Playhouse on Park

Home » 2016 » August » 31

Daily Archives: August 31, 2016

Cocktail on Park!

Meredith Atkinson, Director of Marketing & Public Relations

With July’s end, so left the cast and crew of A Chorus Line, our Season Seven Closer. Some days it was quiet, but for the most part, there was a different kind of hustle and bustle here at the Playhouse. Our exciting moments included: comedian Mike Jacobs returning to his old stomping grounds for a successful fundraiser, bidding a fond farewell to hardworking summer interns, the meeting of creative (or loquacious? wacky? take your pick!) minds for Play In A Day, and two nights in a row of hilarious improv.

DSC_1045

Meredith Atkinson

We are so excited to open Season Eight with Little Shop of Horrors! On a personal note, the music of Little Shop was one of my favorite things as a child. My cousins – the cool cousins, we all have them – introduced me to the movie when I was probably no more than 7 years old, and I was instantly hooked. It was a time of cassette tapes, and among my collection of hits taped off the radio was the Little Shop soundtrack. I should add that all of the cuss words were dubbed over carefully by my older cousin who considered my age and, therefore, impressionable mind. Of course I knew that “sugar” when uttered by Audrey II was really “shit” but that made it all the more funny, I guess.

DSC_1036

Meredith Atkinson

So anyway, our cast is in the midst of rehearsals and they already sound amazing! What better way to celebrate the beginning of Season Eight and Little Shop than with a cocktail? My list of favorites gets longer as I grow older, and mixing drinks has been on the list for a while now. I decided to turn to Audrey for some inspiration, riffed on a classic cocktail, and the result was Somewhere That’s Green, a pleasantly floral and herbal mix.

DSC_1039

Meredith Atkinson

DSC_1050

Meredith Atkinson

If you’d like to make this at home, you’ll need: 3/4 oz gin, 3/4 oz Wild Moon Lavender Liqueur (made in Hartford!), 1/2 oz Green Chartreuse (a delightful herbal liqueur), and 1/2 oz fresh lime juice. Add all of those ingredients to a cocktail shaker, add ice, shake well and strain into a chilled coupe glass. A word of fair warning: one too many of these drinks, and you’ll be channeling Audrey in your kitchen like:giphySo you’re probably better off calling our box office for tickets before you start mixing. We’ll be waiting for your call! 860-523-5900 x10!

